Staring at the stars

The Earth is a magnet that can interact with other magnets in this way, so the north end of a compass magnet is drawn to align with the Earth’s magnetic field. Because the Earth’s magnetic North Pole attracts the “north” ends of other magnets, it is technically the “South Pole” of our planet’s magnetic field. —Live Science

When I saw you look up abruptly,
I found my chin follow the direction of your pupils like a magnetized point
expecting a surprise, an excitement, something wonderful

When I looked up and saw the blurry stars
accompanying the haze of a moon,
I sharply looked back at you
expecting an answer, an explanation, an excuse

And when you looked back at me,
I felt a surprise, an excitement, something wonderful
and the grass and the trees became blurry and hazy
and the stars and the moon became so clear

I sharply looked back at you
expecting an answer, an explanation, an excuse
and when you slowly encased me in your arms
I came to value my existence with you–
two poles so conjoined and yet so distinct.

Leave a Reply

